Tags

, , , ,

Then I went through many hells, I arrived at Usori(yama) lake. This lake is called “Usori lake” by the locals, but officially its name is “Usoriyama lake”. This lake’s beach is “Gokurakuhama” (Paradise beach). Yes, it was quiet and peaceful. Suddenly the sunshine broke through the clouds, and the surface of the gray lake shone brilliant. It is said that the spirit of a dead person gathered this Osorezan. I felt undoubtedly this is one of the special sacred places in Japan. My guide said that dead children who were dead earlier than their parents had to lay pebbles at the river of Sanzu (Styx). Even though the devils came to break the piling pebbles, they had to continue forever. Therefore their parents came to Osorezan in order to help their kids’ jobs. I found many piles with statue of Jizo (A guardian deity of children) and pinwheels for consolation at the beach. This story made me so sad.

Usori(yama) lake

Usori(yama) lake

Usori(yama) lake

Usori(yama) lake