Tags

, , , ,

Tenryuji temple is one of the 5 main Zen Buddhism temples (Gozan) of Kyoto. It was constructed by Muso-soseki in 1339. They have a huge dragon drawing (9m wide) on the ceiling by Matazo Kayama in 1997. Their beautiful garden is called “Sogenchi teien” which was built by Muso-soseki.

The garden of Tenryuji temple


Tenryuji temple's garden

I prefer to rent a bicycle near the Sagano JR line station to tour at Sagano area. My route was Daikakuji temple, Takiguchiji temple, and Adashino Nenbutsuji temple. (It was little bit hard to ride on the hill.) Returning to the station, I stopped by Rakushisya and Nonomiya shrine. At last I went to this temple and took a rest at the Katsuragawa’s river side. I love the Togetsukyo bridge. It was a sunny wonderful day for watching cherry blossoms (especially sunday), so many people crowded near the bridge and Sagano station. I wondered the bridge would fall into the river for the excess weight!

Togetsukyo bridge